close window  

Contact Info

Telephone: 1 631 537 0870
Other phone:
Fax:
Email: click to send email
Alt. Email: click to send to alt. email
Web: click here to visit website
Instant Messaging:
Skype:

Address map

One Bridgehampton - Sag Harbor Turnpike
Bridgehampton 11932
NY
United States

Professional Identification

GDS Codes:
xEtra ID: US0000363636

Who's Who's

 


Category:  Fine Dining
See Related Categories:  1 Star Fine Dining, 2 Star Fine Dining, Fine Dining
 

Topping Rose House - Profile

General Information

Ever since the Town gave the go-ahead in 2010, owners Bill Campbell and Simon Critchell have been working to restore Topping Rose House to its former glory, while transforming the property into a modern luxury refuge right in the heart of The Hamptons. Acclaimed chef Tom Colicchio has agreed not only to create the restaurant but also to operate the property, a first for him. Tom has enlisted the help of seasoned luxury hotelier, Jeff Morgan, to run day-to-day operations. Abraham Topping Rose was an accomplished, wealthy and well-known man in the community. The son of a local doctor and Revolutionary War surgeon, he was born in Bridgehampton in 1792, attending local schools before earning a law degree from Yale in 1814. Rose went to work for the New York City District Attorney’s office after graduation. In 1823 he met and married Eliza Van Gelder, the daughter of the former city mayor. The couple decided to move to Bridgehampton shortly thereafter to raise a family. They had six children. An accomplished musician and avid hunter, Rose worked as a local attorney until becoming a County Judge in 1847. He resigned a month before his death in 1857. The family moved out of the house not long after. In 1870, the Sag Harbor branch of the Long Island Railroad was completed, transforming the sleepy farming community into a summer destination for city dwellers. By the turn of the century, the Rose mansion had become the summer residence of Henry Corwith, a wealthy Manhattan businessman in the knit goods trade. Corwith and his family continued to live at the house into the 1930s. Thereafter, it became the site of a series of popular restaurants and inns. Its current owners bought the property in 2005. Construction of Topping Rose House began in earnest in 2011 to be completed in the summer of 2012, adding a new and unique chapter to the long history of the crossroads at Bulls Head, Bridgehampton.

Additional Information

At Topping Rose House, Colicchio follows the tradition of his restaurants by honoring the best possible ingredients. The menu, under the guidance of chef de cuisine Ty Kotz, begins with first courses such as Burrata with Braised Zucchini, Lemon Thyme and Crispy Zucchini Blossoms, followed by pastas like and main courses including Roasted Saddle of Rabbit with Pickled Watermelon and Chanterelles. The dessert menu highlights local seasonal flavors with dishes such as Crème Fraiche Panna Cotta with Black Mint, Cornmeal Streusel and Sugar Plum Sorbet. The beverage program features a well-curated list of domestic and international wines, including local Long Island selections and seasonally inspired cocktails. A wrap-around porch, open seasonally, leads to the 25-seat Bar Room, a welcoming place for a drink and a bite. Guests can sit at the aqua lacquered bar or lounge beside one of the two original fireplaces. Striking video art by renowned local artist Robert Wilson is on display.

Topping Rose House - Facilities

Overview

Ever since the Town gave the go-ahead in 2010, owners Bill Campbell and Simon Critchell have been working to restore Topping Rose House to its former glory, while transforming the property into a modern luxury refuge right in the heart of The Hamptons. Acclaimed chef Tom Colicchio has agreed not only to create the restaurant but also to operate the property, a first for him. Tom has enlisted the help of seasoned luxury hotelier, Jeff Morgan, to run day-to-day operations. Abraham Topping Rose was an accomplished, wealthy and well-known man in the community. The son of a local doctor and Revolutionary War surgeon, he was born in Bridgehampton in 1792, attending local schools before earning a law degree from Yale in 1814. Rose went to work for the New York City District Attorney’s office after graduation. In 1823 he met and married Eliza Van Gelder, the daughter of the former city mayor. The couple decided to move to Bridgehampton shortly thereafter to raise a family. They had six children. An accomplished musician and avid hunter, Rose worked as a local attorney until becoming a County Judge in 1847. He resigned a month before his death in 1857. The family moved out of the house not long after. In 1870, the Sag Harbor branch of the Long Island Railroad was completed, transforming the sleepy farming community into a summer destination for city dwellers. By the turn of the century, the Rose mansion had become the summer residence of Henry Corwith, a wealthy Manhattan businessman in the knit goods trade. Corwith and his family continued to live at the house into the 1930s. Thereafter, it became the site of a series of popular restaurants and inns. Its current owners bought the property in 2005. Construction of Topping Rose House began in earnest in 2011 to be completed in the summer of 2012, adding a new and unique chapter to the long history of the crossroads at Bulls Head, Bridgehampton.

Topping Rose House - Photos

Topping Rose House - Reviews

Topping Rose House - News

Topping Rose House - Offers

Topping Rose House - Who's Who's